Captain Funk – Metropolis

“Metropolis,” produced by Tatsuya Oe, an electronic music artist who has raised and lived in Tokyo, Osaka, and New York, takes you on his retro-futuristic journey of “City Music” through 9 instrumental tracks in the style of electronic funk, synthwave, and electro-jazz.


1. City of Love
2. Street Chaser
3. Magic
4. Over the Rainbow
5. You’ll Never Know
6. Metropolis
7. Seduction
8. Till the Dawn
9. Sunset Bay

All tracks composed and produced by Tatsuya Oe (JASRAC)
Art Direction: Passion Yoko
℗ © 2019 Model Electronic & Tatsuya Oe (JASRAC)
Cat No: MECD-1010 (Digipak)
UPC Code: 888295949101
Physical (CD) Distribution: Alliance Entertainment Corporation / CD Baby

Album Description

“Metropolis” begins with the dreamy, upbeat synth-pop “City of Love,” followed by “Street Chaser,” a driving track with the late 70’s jazz-funk groove. “Magic,” a disco boogie tune which features funky guitar strums and melodic synth leads, is reminiscent of “Hey Boy, Hey Girl” or “Piece of You.” “Over the Rainbow,” an uplifting track featuring a brass section and Brazilian beats, and “Metropolis,” a futuristic jazz techno groove in which the fretless bass sound draws audience’s attention, highlight the festive side of the album, while “You’ll Never Know,” ”Seduction,” and “Till the Dawn” stage the romantic and mellow side. “Sunset Bay,” the closing synthwave track featuring melodic leads and 80s-esque beats, lets us bask in the afterglow of the urban soundscape.

Downloads / Streaming Services

Apple Music US | JP
Amazon US | JP | UK | FR | GR | IT | ES | CA
Google Play
CD Baby

Yandex Music

CD Store Links

Amazon US | JP | UK | FR | GR | IT | ES
CD Baby
Import CDs

Note for Sync Licensing

If you’re interested in obtaining a license of music included in this album for your TV/Film/Advertising project, please request a quote from “License Form.”