Captain Funk – Oceans

Tatsuya Oe, who has achieved much acclaim as Dark Model over the past five years, has now released his new album under his longest-standing moniker, Captain Funk. “Oceans” takes you on a breezy and uplifting voyage through 10 instrumental tracks in the style of futuristic funk, electronic jazz, and tropical dance music.


1. Big Blue
2. Running
3. Pacific
4. Dolphins
5. Underwater
6. Voyager
7. Splash
8. Night Dive
9. Rakuen
10. Back to the Island

All music composed and produced by Tatsuya Oe
Art Direction: Passion Yoko
℗ © 2019 Model Electronic & Tatsuya Oe (JASRAC)
CD Cat No: MECD-1008 (Digipak)
UPC (Bar Code): 888295907156
Physical (CD) Distribution: Alliance Entertainment Corporation / CD Baby

Album Description

“Oceans,” the first fully-instrumental album under the moniker of Captain Funk, begins with the cinematic electro “Big Blue,” followed by “Running,” a brisk AOR/yacht rock-esque electro house track. “Pacific,” dramatic and upbeat disco funk and “Voyager,” a driving fusion/jazz-oriented track, are the highlights of the album. Laid-back synth funk tracks such as “Dolphins” and “Night Dive” will make a nice addition to the recent “future funk” scene. Chilling “Underwater” and smooth-jazzy “Rakuen” featuring nylon guitar sounds, which change the flow of the album, contribute to enriching the whole story. “Back to the Island,” the closing melodic house track featuring reggae-type (backbeat) synth riffs, lets us bask in the afterglow of summer.

Downloads / Streaming Services


Apple Music US | JP
Amazon US | JP | UK | FR | GR
CD Baby
Google Play
Line Music
Shazam (Artist Page)

CD Store Links

Amazon US | JP
CD Baby
Import CDs

Note for Sync Licensing

If you’re interested in obtaining a license of music included in this album for your TV/Film/Advertising project, please request a quote from “License Form.”